How to Read a Christmas Light Installation Quote (and the Fees Often Left Off)
A complete Christmas light installation quote says what gets lit and how much: feet of roofline, and which trees and how each is wrapped. It names the bulb type, who owns the lights, the install and takedown dates, whether service, takedown and storage cost extra, and the deposit, total and tax. National cost guides we checked in October 2026 put per-foot prices anywhere from $1.25 to $12, partly because they price different services. Compare quotes only on the same scope.
| Line on the quote | What it should say |
|---|---|
| 1. Scope | Which parts get lit, by side: roofline, peaks, garage, named trees |
| 2. Roofline | Linear feet, bulb type (C9, C7, mini), bulb spacing, color |
| 3. Trees and bushes | How many, the pricing unit, and the coverage: trunk only, trunk and limbs, or canopy |
| 4. Extras and power | Wreaths, garland, timers and cords, priced or marked included; which outlets the lights use |
| 5. Who owns the lights | Customer-owned, sold to you, or supplied and kept by the installer |
| 6. Service visits | What happens if a section goes dark, and whether a visit costs extra |
| 7. Install and takedown dates | Install window, takedown weeks, and whether takedown costs extra |
| 8. Storage | Who stores the lights and whether that is in the price |
| 9. Deposit, balance and tax | Due at booking, when the rest is due, and whether tax is in the total |
| 10. Valid-until date and changes | How long the price holds and how additions get priced |
Use this if you’re holding two or three quotes that don’t line up. If you don’t have a quote yet, start with getting a Christmas light quote from photos. For price ranges, see what Christmas light installation costs in Austin. Sapien Lighting & Installation does Christmas light installation in Austin, and you can hold our quote to the same list.
What each line on a Christmas light installation quote means
A Christmas light installation quote is a price for a described amount of work. Read the description before the price, because two quotes with the same total can cover different amounts of light.

Scope: what gets lit
The scope line names each part of the property that gets lights, by side of the house. A useful scope reads like “front roofline with both gables and the garage, two front-yard live oaks, trunk and main limbs”. “House and trees” leaves room to disagree later about the side gable or the second oak.
Roofline: feet, bulb and spacing
The roofline line should give the linear feet, the bulb type and the spacing between bulbs. Feet let you check the arithmetic. Bulb type and spacing tell you what you are buying: C9 bulbs every 12 inches is a different product from a retail mini-light string clipped to the gutter.
A per-foot price means little until you know what it covers. These are national figures, checked in October 2026:
| What the per-foot price covers | Published range (per linear foot) | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Labor only, you supply the lights | $1.25 to $3 | Thumbtack’s national price page (updated April 2026, checked October 2026) |
| Lights, setup and removal | $2.50 to $7 | HomeAdvisor’s cost guide (updated June 2026, checked October 2026) |
| Installed with lights (the guide does not list what else is included) | $5 to $12 | HomeGuide’s cost guide (October 2025 edition, as of October 2026) |
| Lights, clips, install, takedown and storage; installer keeps the lights | $8 to $12 | Christmas Lights HQ’s pricing guide, a lighting supplier’s advice to installers (March 2026, checked October 2026) |
These are national numbers, not Sapien’s prices. A low rate and a high rate can both be fair if they describe different services. Our guide to why professional installation costs what it does explains where the money goes.
On an Austin home without gutters, or with a tile or metal roof, also ask whether the attachment method is part of the roofline price. The clip changes with the surface, and so does the labor.
Trees and bushes: the unit and the coverage
The tree line is where quotes differ most, because installers do not share one pricing unit. Four units are in use:
- Per tree by height. This is how national guides tier it. HomeAdvisor’s guide (June 2026, checked October 2026) lists $75 to $200 for a small tree and $1,500 or more for trees 30 feet or taller.
- Per strand of lights used. One Austin installer says it prices trees this way but does not post the rate.
- Per foot of tree. That means feet of trunk height or canopy width, not feet of light string.
- Bundled. A package price that includes a set number of wrapped trees.
Coverage matters as much as the unit. A trunk wrap spirals lights up the trunk from the ground, usually to where the main limbs split or to a height written on the quote. A trunk-and-limb wrap continues out along the main limbs. Canopy lighting puts lights through the outer branches. Those are three different jobs on the same tree.
Most homeowners expect a tree price to follow height. Trunk circumference, the number of limbs wrapped and the gap between turns of the strand set how many feet of lights the tree takes, and footage drives the price. A thick live oak and a slim crape myrtle of the same height are far apart in footage.
For a sense of scale, these are the ranges Sapien typically quotes in 2026, from customer photos:
| Tree and coverage | Typical Sapien price, 2026 |
|---|---|
| Very small tree | From $100 |
| Small or medium tree, trunk only | $150 to $250 |
| Small tree, leafy canopy wrapped lightly | About $150 to $300 each |
| Large oak, trunk only, or large live oak trunk plus some limbs | $500 to $1,000 |
| Very large oak with multiple branches | $1,500 to $3,000 |
| Maximum wrap (every branch as high as the tree allows) or a very tall oak, usually with a boom lift | Up to about $5,000 |
For each tree on any quote, ask for the unit, the coverage and how high the wrap goes. Ask too how the wrap is anchored. Sapien’s crews use small removable staples where a wrap won’t hold on its own and take them out in January; you can ask for a staple-free wrap, and on oaks we recommend one. Our guide to what it costs to wrap a tree goes deeper on each tier.
Extras, timers and power
Wreaths, garland, timers and extension cords should each be priced or marked as included. Timers run $10 to $50 each in HomeAdvisor’s guide (checked October 2026), but a silent quote leaves you guessing who supplies them and sets the schedule.
The quote should also say which existing outlets the lights plug into and how cords reach each run. Trees in the middle of a yard need the most thought: the cord has to cross the lawn or a walk. If the house has no outlet where one is needed, see putting up Christmas lights with no outdoor outlet.
A new outlet does not belong on a light installer’s quote. Texas licenses electricians through the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation, and Occupations Code section 1305.003 carves out holiday lighting itself but not any power source it needs. Sapien installs plug-in lighting only. A new outlet or circuit is a separate job for a licensed electrician.
What does “materials included” mean on a Christmas light quote?
“Materials included” or “lights included” can describe three different arrangements, and the phrase alone does not say which:

- Install only. You own the lights already. The installer charges labor to hang them.
- Lights sold to you. The installer supplies the lights, you pay for them, and you keep them.
- Full service. The installer supplies the lights and keeps them. You pay for a lit house for the season, often worded “per season”.
None of the three is wrong, but they produce different prices in year one and year two. Our post on whether installers provide the lights compares them in detail. Before you compare quotes, ask five questions:
- Who owns the lights in January?
- Who stores them, and where?
- If a strand fails mid-season, who pays for the replacement?
- Is next year’s price the same, lower or unknown?
- Are timers, clips and extension cords in the price?
Don’t assume year two is cheaper. Ask, and get the answer in writing.
At Sapien, the service is lights-included: we supply the lights, install them, look after them through the season and take them down in January. Every Sapien installation includes a custom design, commercial-grade lights and clips, installation, repairs if anything goes dark during the season, and takedown. The professional installation process walks through each step.
Which fees are often missing from a quote?
The fees most often missing from a Christmas light installation quote are takedown, storage, mid-season service visits and surcharges for height or access. A separate charge for any of these is a pricing model, not a trick. The problem is a charge that is not on the quote.

| Item | How it can show up | What to ask |
|---|---|---|
| Takedown | Included, or billed in January. Stand-alone removal runs $100 to $400 in HomeAdvisor’s and HomeGuide’s guides (as of October 2026). See removal service and what it costs. | Is takedown in this total? Which weeks? |
| Storage | Included, or an add-on. Angi’s national cost guide lists storage as an optional extra. | Is storage in this total? Is there a yearly fee? |
| Service visits | Included for the season, or billed per visit. Angi lists general repair labor at $50 to $100 per hour (as of October 2026); an installer’s own service-call fee may differ. | If a section goes dark, what does a visit cost me? |
| Steep or hard-to-reach roof | HomeAdvisor and Thumbtack both cite about 20% more (checked October 2026). | Is the access surcharge already in the per-foot rate? |
| Second story | Thumbtack says most installers charge about twice as much for a second story (checked October 2026). | Which runs are priced at the two-story rate? |
| Late booking | One supplier’s pricing guide coaches installers to add 10% to 20% in early December and 25% to 50% for last-minute requests (checked October 2026). | Does this price hold if I book next week? |
| Sales tax | In the total, or added on the invoice. | Is tax included in this number? |
In the Austin area, each of the five installers whose published prices we opened in October 2026 includes takedown and storage in the package price. If a quote you hold leaves takedown out, ask about it directly. Sapien’s takedown runs January 2 to 15. If your HOA sets a date for lights to come down, check your association’s rules and get the removal weeks written on the quote.
How a minimum charge changes a per-foot quote
A minimum charge is the smallest total an installer will accept for a job, whatever the footage. Below the minimum, the per-foot rate stops mattering.

Angi’s national guide (as of October 2026) says most companies have a minimum of $150 to $300 per job. The two Austin-area installers that publish a minimum showed $450 and $500 when we checked in October 2026. Sapien’s minimum job is $500.
Example with a $500 minimum and a made-up $6 per-foot rate (not a Sapien price): a 60-foot roofline at $6 per foot works out to $360. Under a $500 minimum, the job costs $500. Divide $500 by 60 feet and the real rate is about $8.33 per foot. The per-foot rate only starts to matter above about 83 feet ($500 divided by $6).
If your quote sits at the minimum, ask what else fits inside it: a second gable, the garage, or a trunk wrap on the tree by the front walk.
How do you compare two Christmas light installation quotes?
To compare two quotes, rewrite both for the same scope and the same inclusions, then compare totals. Fill in this worksheet, and where a quote does not say, ask the installer to fill the cell.

| Row | Quote A | Quote B |
|---|---|---|
| Roofline feet | 150 ft | 150 ft |
| Bulb and spacing | C9, 12 in. | Not stated |
| Trees (count, unit, coverage) | 1 live oak, per tree, trunk and main limbs | 1 tree, “wrapped”, coverage not stated |
| Who owns the lights | Installer | Not stated |
| Service visits | Included | Not stated |
| Takedown | Included | Not included |
| Storage | Included | Not stated |
| Tax | Included | Not stated |
| Roofline rate and subtotal (example) | $7 per ft, $1,050 | $5 per ft, $750 |
Example, with made-up inputs that are not Sapien’s prices: on the roofline alone, Quote A is $1,050 with service, takedown and storage included. Quote B is $750 without takedown. Add the published stand-alone removal range of $100 to $400 and Quote B becomes $850 to $1,150, anywhere from $200 less to $100 more than Quote A. Who owns the lights, storage, service visits and tax are still unstated, so you cannot know which is the better buy until those cells have answers.
The tree rows can’t be compared yet either. Quote B needs to say trunk only or trunk and limbs, and how high the wrap goes. If two quotes give different footage for the same roofline, ask each installer which edges they counted.
To put a Sapien quote in one of those columns, text a few daytime photos of the front of your house to (737) 777-9099 and tell us which parts you want lit.
Can the price change on install day?
The price should not change on install day if the scope is written down. A written scope describes exactly what gets lit, ideally on a marked-up photo, agreed before the crew arrives. It keeps “while you’re up there, can you also do the side?” from becoming a surprise on the invoice.

The Texas Attorney General’s guidance on hiring contractors says to look for detail on exactly what will be done and not to sign a contract with blanks. For a light quote, that means two things:
- Approve a picture. Ask for a photo of your house or trees with the lit areas drawn on it. If the installer does not offer one, draw it yourself and send it back for a yes.
- Price additions in writing before they go up. A text message is enough: what is being added and the price.
While you’re at it, ask what happens to the install date if rain pushes it back.
Deposit, tax and total lines
The payment lines should show the deposit amount, when the balance is due, the sales tax line and the total. A deposit is normal. The Texas Attorney General says a contractor will usually ask for partial payment in advance, and that the warning sign is a demand for full payment up front. The Federal Trade Commission’s contractor guidance says the same: do not pay the full amount before the work is done.

Neither agency gives a deposit percentage. On tax, ask every installer whether it is in the number, so the totals match. Cancellation terms belong in the contract, not the quote; see what a Christmas light installation contract should say.
At Sapien, a 50% deposit books your install date, and the balance is due after the lights are up.
What does a low Christmas light quote leave out?
In our view, a quote far below the others usually describes a smaller service, not the same service for less. The usual differences are install-only labor with your own lights, no takedown, retail light strings, or fewer feet. Each can be a reasonable choice if it is the one you meant to make. Our post on where low bids cut corners goes through each one.

The Texas Attorney General says to be wary of a bid far below the rest, and the FTC says not to pick the lowest estimate automatically. Neither says to reject it. Put it in the worksheet above and see where the blanks are.
Watch for the word “licensed.” Texas does not license holiday-light installers at the state level: the state licensing department’s program list includes electricians but has no program for light installers. If a quote uses the word, ask what the license is for. Insurance is the better question: ask for proof of general liability coverage before anyone climbs your roof. Sapien carries $1 million in general liability insurance. Our questions to ask an installer cover the rest of the hiring checklist.
When a one-line quote is fine
A one-line quote is fine when the scope cannot be misread. We’d accept one in three cases:

- A small single-run job, such as the front gutter line only, where the minimum sets the price anyway.
- A returning customer getting last year’s scope, with that written scope on file.
- A package price whose inclusions are listed in writing elsewhere.
For a job with trees, a second story or more than one side, ask for the footage and the tree coverage. The installer already has both, because that is how the price was built.
Text a few daytime photos of the front of your house to (737) 777-9099, or use the contact page, and tell us which parts you want lit. Include the trees you are considering and your target install date, and we’ll send back a quote you can check line by line against this list.
Frequently asked questions
Is a Christmas light quote the same as an estimate?
Not necessarily. The two words get used loosely. Ask one question: is this the price I will pay for the scope written here, or can it change after measuring?
How many Christmas light installation quotes should I get?
More than one. The Texas Attorney General advises getting written bids from more than one contractor, and the FTC advises multiple written estimates. Two or three quotes on the same written scope tell you more than five quotes on five different scopes.
How long is a Christmas light installation quote good for?
Only as long as the quote says. Look for a valid-until date, and if there isn’t one, ask how long the price holds.
Sources
- Thumbtack: Christmas light installation prices (install-only rate, roof and second-story surcharges; updated April 2026, checked October 2026)
- HomeAdvisor: holiday lighting installation cost (per-foot and per-tree ranges, removal, timers, access surcharge; updated June 2026, checked October 2026)
- HomeGuide: Christmas light installation cost (installed rate, removal; October 2025 edition)
- Christmas Lights HQ: pricing guide for installers (a supplier’s advice to installers: full-service rate, late-season premiums; March 2026)
- Angi: Christmas light installation cost (minimums, storage, repair labor; checked October 2026)
- Texas Attorney General: how to avoid home improvement scams (written bids, low bids, deposits)
- Federal Trade Commission: how to avoid a home improvement scam (estimates, payment up front)
- Texas Occupations Code section 1305.003 (power source carve-out)
- Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation: programs licensed and regulated (no light-installer program)
- Price pages of five Austin-area installers, opened October 4, 2026: two publish minimums ($450 and $500); all five include takedown and storage. Two pages are dated 2024 and 2025. Not named or linked.
About the author. Rick Safeman owns Sapien Lighting & Installation in Austin, Texas.